English learning log

English learning log

Travels across Africa (how to use the past perfect)

2020. május 06. - polly graph

Reading:

1. Complete the phrases with the words in italics:

diary, emails, home, photos, souvenirs

to phone ______________

to keep a ______________

to buy _________________

to send ________________

Do you do any of these when you travel?

2. Where are Sophie and Daniel? How do they like to remember their travels?

3. True or False or Not Given?

A. They drove slowly through the busy desert.

B. Sophie wrote about her experiences in a notebook.

C. Daniel took photos of the Victoria Falls.

D. They had seen a lot of things, and heard many stories.

E. Daniel was driving when they saw the horses.

F. They had seen other animals, but they hadn't seen wild horses before.

G. The horses didn't come near the car.

H. Sophie woke Daniel so that he could take photos.

 (Infinitive of purpose:

I went to Africa to take photos.

I woke Daniel so that he could take photos.

 

I gave him my address .... (he - contact me)

I slowed down .....             (other car - overtake)

I explained everything ....    (you - understand)                       (

 NEW EXERCISE!

1.

I -  went to the library +

Paul - study at home = I went to the library SO THAT Paul could .........

2. I - offered him a ride + he - arrive on time =

3. We - built a pool + children - swim =

4. We- went to Italy + she - practise Italian =

5. We - bought a bigger house - she - have her own room =

 

 

4. Find examples of the PAST PERFECT in the passage:

We wanted to remember all we HAD seen ...

Which action happened first?

We saw things ...

We wanted to remember

We use the Past Perfect and Past Simple together to make it clear that one event happened before another one in the past.

We make the Past Perfect Simple with HAD HADN'T + the past participle

( We also use the past perfect in conditional sentences:

I would have called you if I HAD known your number.

(Finish the sentences:

I would have cooked dinner if I (lett volna időm)

I would have bought a new dress if I (nem vesztettem volna el a pénzem)

I would have worked in the garden (ha nem kezdett volna el esni az eső)

I would have said hello (ha megismertem volna)

I would have gone to the shop (ha megkértél volna)

I wouldn't have been fired (ha nem késtem volna el a munkából)

I wouldn't have forgotten my password (ha leírtam volna)

Megettem volna az ebédet, ha finom lett volna.

Elolvastam volna a könyvet, ha több időm lett volna.

Megcsináltam volna a házit, ha megtaláltam volna a könyvem.

Vettem volna paradicsomot, ha nem lett volna zárva a piac.

in reported speech:

'Have you seen the new James Bond movie?'

He asked me if I HAD seen the new James Bond movie.)

Have you been to the USA?

Have you bought the book yet?

Have you ever eaten Japanese food?

Is this the first time you've driven a car?

How many times have you seen this film?

https://www.englisch-hilfen.de/en/grammar/past_perfect.htm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9QU5bqql8Kg

https://www.englisch-hilfen.de/en/exercises/tenses/past_perfect_simple_past.htm

My best friend, Kevin was no longer there. He ....................... (go) away.

My local cinema was no longer open. It .......................... (close) down.

Mr. Johnson was no longer alive. He ...............(die).

I didn't recognise Mrs Johnson. She ...................(change) a lot.

Bill no longer had his car. He ............................ (sell) it.

PAST PERFECT or PAST SIMPLE?

The house was very quiet when I got home. Everybody ......... (go) to bed.

I felt very tired when I got home, so I ..........(go) straight to bed.

Sorry, I'm late. The car .............. (break) down on my way here.

There was a car by the side of the road. It ...... (break) down and the driver was trying to repair it. So we .......... (stop) to see if we could help.

 

 

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://englishexam.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr7415664878

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása