English learning log

English learning log

OneRepublic - Counting Stars

2020. április 22. - polly graph

[Chorus]
Lately, I've (1) .........., I've been (2) ......... sleep
Dreaming about the things that we could be
But baby, I'(3) ..........  been, I'(4) .......... been praying hard
Said no more counting dollars, we'll (5) .......... counting stars
Yeah, we'll be (6) ..........stars


[Verse 1]
I see this (6) .........., like a swinging vine
Swing my heart (7).......... the line

And in my face is flashing signs
Seek it out and ye' (8) ..........find

Old, but I'm not that old
Young, but I'm not that (9) ..........

And I don't think the world is sold
On just doing what we're told


[Pre-Chorus]
I feel something so right doing the wrong (10) ..........
I feel something so wrong doing the (11) .......... thing
I couldn't lie, couldn't lie, couldn't lie
Everything that kills me makes me feel (12) .........


[Chorus]
(13).........., I've been, I've been losing sleep
Dreaming about the things that we could be
But baby, I've been, I've been (14)..........hard
Said no more counting dollars, we'll be counting stars
Lately, I've been, I've been losing sleep
Dreaming about the things that we could be
But baby, I've been, I've been praying hard
Said no more counting dollars, we'll be, we'll (15) .......... counting stars

 

NOTES:

What does 'swinging vine' in One Republic's 'Counting Stars' mean ...swinging on a vine (not wine!)

 

bald vs bold confusing words in English explained in hindi urdu ...

Bald= to have no hair

Bold= to be brave

Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock ...

From the King James translation of Matthew 7:7: "Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you." Something can be found if it is looked for.

It is a Biblical quote, thus the 'old-fashioned' "ye (you) shall ..."

Exercises:

1: Find an example of the Present Perfect Continuous:

 

2: Find an example of the Future Continuous:

 

3: Watch it burn vs. Watch it burning

Is there any difference?

4: What's the English for:

mostanában rosszul alszom:

nem vagyok olyan öreg:

elsüllyeszteni a folyóba:

fogd a pénzt és nézd, ahogyan ég:

Keress és találsz!:

 5. If you wanted to tattoo a line from the song on your arm, which line would you pick?

ste rathbone (@ste_rathbone) | Twitter

 

 

 

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://englishexam.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr7815631606

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása