English learning log

English learning log

Tips for Angol érettségi, emelt, íráskészség

2022. június 02. - polly graph

Let's start with a previous blogpost, which I wrote to help you with the spoken exam. Both exams - spoken and written - are used to measure your English skills, so (naturally) you can use the advice given in that post:

https://englishexam.blog.hu/2022/01/14/balint_language_cer

Let's go through them briefly:

- use the words that you already know and choose more interesting phrases:

Instead of boring: I like food markets.   SAY/WRITE: I'm fond of food markets.

- prepare your favourite phrases that you can use in different writing task types:

Just thought I’d drop you a line. I’ve been really busy recently. By the way, have you heard about … 

Anyway, the reason I’m writing …      Anyway, I was wondering …

- don't be afraid to use 'advanced' grammar:

If I had more time, I would visit all of them.

I wish I had more time!

Although the Victoria & Albert Museum is worth visiting, I would rather go to Borough Market.

- learn a couple of fancy words, like galore: (meaning: in great amounts or numbers, bőség in Hungarian)

https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/galore

I'm sure the market has fruit and vegatables galore.

- be interesting and up-to-date

As far as I know there are several bike racks within the Market, as well as cycle hire docks on both Southwark Street and Park Street.

 (harder to do without google, but the info does not have to be valid)

- warm up before the exam. Read, write something in English instead of chatting with someone in Hungarian and make each other even more nervous)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

https://dload-oktatas.educatio.hu/erettsegi/feladatok_2021osz_emelt/e_angol_21okt_fl.pdf

HOW TO WRITE THE TASK?

1. Read the instructions very carefully to see what exactly you have to write:

- email to a friend, Colin (informal) who sent you information about 3 programmes

your email (120-150 words) should have 3 parts and include the following:

o tell him which programme you would like to choose

o why?

suggest one more activity

Here's a video that helps you write informal emails:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=llqPvcciKEM

Here are some phrases to start an informal email with:

 

GREETING  Dear / Hello / Hi …(,)

INTRODUCTION  It’s great to hear from you. / Many thanks for your e-mail / letter.  Sorry it's taken me so long to write back. / I haven't written for ages but …  I’ve been really busy recently. / You’ve to know that I’ve been working really hard.  How are you? / How are things (with you)? / How's it going? / How’s life?  I hope you’re fine. / I hope you and your family are well. / I do hope this e-mail / letter will find you in good health and spirits.  Just thought I’d drop you a line.

REFERRING TO GOOD / BAD NEWS  Glad / sorry to hear / read about …  I'm really glad / very happy to hear / read about …  I'm extremely sorry / very sad to hear / read about …

This is how you can continue and move on to the main topic:

By the way, have you heard about … / Did you hear about … / Tell me about …  Oh, another thing I wanted to mention … / So you want my advice about …  Anyway, the reason I’m writing … / Anyway, I was wondering …  I thought I’d write to tell / ask you … 

This is how you end your email:

Well, time to go / to close! / Got to go now! / I've got to leave off now! / That’s all for now.  Looking forward to hearing from you. / Hope to hear from you soon. / Write back soon!  Make sure you write soon! / Keep in touch! / Drop me a line if you have time!  Take care of yourself! / Look after yourself!  Let me know if you need anything. / Just give me a call if you have any questions left.

And this is how you sign off

Yours(,) / Your friend(,) /  Best wishes(,) / All the best(,)  Hugs(,) / Hugs and kisses(,)  Love(,) / Lots of love(,) / All my love(,)  Take care(,) / Bye for now(,)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now, let's see this particular task. Write a letter to Colin about the daytrip to London:

General phrases are BOLD, the parts that I copied from the description of the task are in italics.

 

 

Hi Colin,

 

How are you? Many thanks for your email and the descriptions of the programmes. I've been really busy recently so I really appreciate your help. 

I thought I'd write you to tell you which programme I chose. As you know, I'm fond of gastronomy, especially vegetarian cooking. According to your email, Borough Market is one of London's largest and oldest food markets and it offers gastronomic delights. I'm also interested in history and as far as I know the history of this market goes back to the thirteenth century. How exciting! 

Another thing I wanted to mention is that I really wanted to visit Buckingham Palace. As far as I remember, they have tours and sell last-minute tickets.  Do you think we can visit Borough Market and then see Buckingham Palace?

Well, time to go! I'm looking forward to seeing you in London. 

Take care,

X

As you see you can write a short email using the phrases that I recommended and the parts that you borrowed from the task description.

..................................................................................................................................................

TASK 2 : you are supposed to write a comment = give your opinion+ share your experience + give advice. 

Here's a great post (video and quiz included) that shows you how to express your opinion.

https://www.engvid.com/ielts-toefl-opinion/

Here are my favourites to give my opinion plus agree and disagree:

If you ask me ...

In my opinion ...

I strongly believe that ...

Some people may disagree with me, but ...

I tend to think that ...

As far as I'm concerned

I'm of the opinion that

I agree with you 100 percent!

You are absolutely right!

I'm afraid I disagree.

That's not the way I see it.

I totally disagree.

I'd say the exact opposite.

Here are some topics that help you practise:

http://www.goodlucktoefl.com/toefl-writing-topics-agree-or-disagree.html

How can we give advice?

 

https://www.engvid.com/how-to-give-advice-in-english/

My favourite phrases:

If I were you I would (talk to her)

I think you should ...(talk to her)

I don't think you should ...(talk to her)

Why don't you ...(talk to her)?

My advice would be to ...(talk to her)

One think you could do is ...(talk to her)

It's generally a good idea to ...(talk to her)

You had better (talk to her)

I suggest you (talk to your mom)

How to write the comment (of 200-250 words)?

o do parents have the right to control their children's screen time?

o have a say in what apps their children use

o personal experience (teenagers privacy issue)

o what you think she should do

Claire,

First of all, let me start by saying that your mother loves you and wants to do what she thinks is the best for you. 

If you ask me, parents have the right to control their children's screen time, in fact it's an important part of your upbringing. Your parents have to teach you many things and sometimes they have to set limits. Can you eat as much chocolate as you want? Can you stay out as late as you wish? Can you wear shorts in the middle of winter? Of course not! Parents have to teach their children the rules of the family and the world. They have to teach them what is expected of them and how far they can go. 

I'm of the opinion that parents should have a say in what apps their children use. I tend to think that the internet has a dark side and parents have to talk to their children about these dangers.

I agree with you on the privacy issue. I don't think your mom should read your messages. It must have been a very humiliating experience! In my family we respect privacy and never read messages that were adressed to other people.

If I were you, I would talk to her and explain why you have to use your phone in the evening. I'm sure she will understand. I strongly believe that communication between family members can solve many problems. Good luck!

(243 words)

6 Steps for Defusing Screen Time Arguments with Teenagers

 

 

 

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://englishexam.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr3217813171

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása