English learning log

English learning log

Love Actually - Official Trailer

2021. május 10. - polly graph

I would like to talk about my favourite film.

GENRE:

To tell you the truth, I'm fond of comedies and Christmas so I chose Love Actually

which is a cute Christmas-themed romantic comedy with a charming cast.

DIRECTOR, RELEASE

It was written and directed by Richard Curtis and released in 2003. As far as I know it became a box office hit.

LOCATION

It was filmed on location in London, which is another thing that I adore about this movie.

WHEN AND WHERE DID YOU SEE IT?

As I have already mentioned, it was released 18 years ago and I have probably seen it a hundred times on DVD and Netflix. I reckon that watching films at home has a lot of advantages so I am not a regular cinema-goer.

SET IN ...

The film is set in present day London (or rather 2013 London) before Christmas. We follow the lives of different characters ranging from the new British Prime Minister to a Portuguese housekeeper.

CHARACTERS

If you ask me, everybody can find a character they can relate to or sympathise with.

My favourite character is Jamie, the writer - played by one of my favourite actors, Colin Firth - who has just broken up with his cheating girlfriend. (To make matters worse, he finds out that she is having an affair with his brother.)

PLOT

Crushed, Jamie withdraws to his French cottage, where he unexpectedly falls in love with his Portuguese housekeeper. Although he cannot speak Portuguese and she cannot speak English, they have great chemistry between them therefore this storyline ends well: Jamie proposes to Aurelia in broken Portuguese and she she accepts the proposal in broken English. You see, learning languages is not a waste of time!

WHO DO YOU RECOMMEND IT TO?

I recommend this movie to everybody who is fond of this genre, Christmas and London. On the other hand, I do not think people who like action or horror films will like it very much. They might find it sickeningly sweet.

Length of presentation: 01:35

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://englishexam.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr2016528068

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása