English learning log

English learning log

Writing Letters (Health and fitness)

2021. március 24. - polly graph

TELC B2 Exam Training Book (pp 41-46)

 

1: Linking sentences in letters (page 43/3)

Complete the text with the following linking words:

although, as, as a result, because, therefore, even though, consequently

 

Dear Mr Sims

You asked me for my opinion on healthcare here in Australia.

(1 ) .................. there is a universal healthcare system, Medicare, many people still chose private medical cover ( 2 ) ............ waiting times are shorter and the quality of treatment is generally better. ( 3 ) ............, thousands of healthy adults are buying private insurance.

I personally have private cover and I am so happy that I have it, ( 4 ) ............ I'm probably in the top 10% of healthy people. Last year, while out jogging, I fell and badly broke my ankle.

( 5 ) ..........., I have had an operation and a year of physiotherapy. With Medicare, I would have had to wait six months to even begin physio! ( 6 ) ............, until medicare improves its service, people are going to continue buying private insurance, ( 7 ), ......... we just don't have time to wait to be treated.

Yours sincerely

Susan Green

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2. Decide if the following parts of a letter are formal, informal, or neutral: (44/4)

1. Dear Sir/Madam

2. I could really do with some help.

3. I'm writing to ask for information about ...

4. David, send me that ...

5. Would you mind ...

6. I would be grateful if ...

7. I look forward to hearing from you ...

8. Hoping I'll hear from you soomn ...

9. Yours sincerely

10. Best wishes

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

3. Put the sentences of the letter in the correct order: (44/5)

A:  I am looking for a personal trainer for six months to help me recover.

B: I plan to train three mornings a week, twice during the week and once at weekends.

C: I had knee surgery and both my arm and were in plaster for a long time.

D: I am a keen long-distance runner. Unfortunately, four months ago I had a really bad accident.

E: Dear Sir/Madam

F: I would appreciate if you could send me details of your packages and personal trainer rates.

G: I need a trainer who is experienced in sports injuries.

H: Best regards

I: I look forward to hearing from you

J: I would like to inquire about gym membership options.

K: As a result, I have not been able to train since the accidents and I am very weak.

-------------------------------------------------------

4. You have decided to join a gym and get fit this summer. You found this ad:

(46/7)

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Finesse Fitness Studio

Work out with us!

- Up-to-date equipment

- Yoga classes

- Private personal trainers

- Pool (25m)

Monthly Plus Pass

Unlimited access to gym with flexible monthly fees. Pause or cancel at any time. No contract or sign-up fees.

Pay as you go

Drop in with a daily pass

Special offers

Extremely low prices, for those with a low budget

How to find us:

Retail Centre, Unit 20, Fulham Broadway, Fulham Rd, London SW6 18W

Email: finesse@studio1.com

Phone: +44 345 129 6792

Open: 6am - 10pm

------Write a letter to the gym enquiring about your workout options. In your letter write in detail about

a: at least three of the following points

or

b: at least two of the following pounts plus one other aspect related to this topic:

- Membership options

- Personal trainers

- your reasons for choosing this gym

- your specific requirements

Please write at least 150 words

 

 

 

 

 

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://englishexam.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr8416476212

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása